Religious Orders

Institute of Sisters of Mercy of Australia and Papua New Guinea RSM IMAPNG

The Institute was established on December 12, 2011 as a religious congregation of pontifical right. It was formed by all members of fourteen Australian Mercy congregations which chose to relinquish canonical autonomy for the sake of greater unity and strengthening capacity for mission [Cairns, Townsville, Rockhampton, Grafton, Singleton, Gunnedah, Bathurst, Wilcannia-Forbes, Goulburn, Melbourne, Ballarat East, Adelaide, Perth and West Perth] and all members of the Autonomous Region of Papua New Guinea.

Subsequently, about 46 sisters from the three Australian Mercy congregations which retained their autonomy [Brisbane, North Sydney and Parramatta] transferred to the Institute.

As with Mercy congregations worldwide, the Institute derives ultimately from the Order of Mercy which was founded by Venerable Catherine McAuley in Dublin, Ireland on December 12, 1831.

At the heart of every Mercy congregation is its members’ life-time commitment to advance God’s merciful reign ‘in this time and place’ through engagement in the Works of Mercy within the tradition of Gospel service inspired by Catherine.

02 9123 7201
Postal Address
PO Box 284
Petersham, NSW 2049
Contact Name
Sr Carlene Allen RSM IMAPNG

Type and press "enter" or click search

Scroll to top