Religious Orders

Marist Brothers FMS – Marist Brothers of the Schools

Founded by Saint Marcellin Champagnat in 1817 at Lavalla, France. The Institute was created on January 2, 1817, when Marcellin Champagnat founded the lay religious Institute, or religious Institute of Brothers, under the name of Little Brothers of Mary. In 1863, the Holy See approved the group as an autonomous Institute of pontifical right. While respecting our original name, it gave us the title of Marist Brothers of the Schools (FMS). In 1872, four Brothers arrived from Europe (from St Genis Laval, France) to form the first Australian community. It is now an international Institute with headquarters in Rome, Italy and Australian Province office in Sydney.

02 9218 4000
Postal Address
Bethany Centre, 470 Church Street
Parramatta, NSW 2150
Contact Name
Br Mark O'Connor FMS

Type and press "enter" or click search

Scroll to top